Which is the lesser risk?

I was talking with my dad yesterday, and as a concerned parent, he was trying to make me more aware of the Ebola outbreak that exists outside the secluded world of the High Point University campus.  He told me that Ebola is spreading in some western African countries because of the Islamic burial practices.  I looked into it a little.  When a Muslim dies, it is traditional for the family to wash and cleanse the body, then dress it for burial.  However, Ebola is still very contagious from the fluids of a dead body.  This has created a great risk of transmitting the disease to entire families and whoever else they may come in contact with.  On the contrary, not preparing the body in the traditional way creates a great risk for the soul of the diseased no making it into paradise.  It is difficult to understand the conviction of the Muslim families who have lost someone to the Ebola outbreak that they would risk endangering so many more people to carry out a traditional burial.  Yet, by not doing that, I realize, they fear they are condemning their deceased loved one.  Can there be a compromise when so much is at risk?

One thought on “Which is the lesser risk?”

  1. When I was in 7th grade, I had a crush on this girl who was a Christian but lived with extremely atheist parents who told her she wasn’t allowed to believe in God. One day she told me she had been slitting her wrist and she was contemplating suicide because she felt like God hated her, but she told me if I told anyone she would get in trouble with her family and she would never talk to me again. That night, I wrote a poem about following God and how nothing else matters and I posted it on her facebook page, hoping it might help her and not caring about anything else. She hasn’t talked to me since but she started openly wearing a cross and she is still alive so I feel no regrets. These Muslims are probably too concerned with saving their loved ones’ souls to even care about what happens to themselves. Physical death and worldly problems carry little significance next to eternal life and the spiritual realm, so I think nine times out of ten, the devout Muslim would do everything in their power to save their loved ones without even caring about what happens to their own lives. After all, if they catch the virus, they will get to join their loved ones in heaven anyways.
    Jayden Olsen

    Like

Leave a Reply

